My SuGaR Elimination + Reintroduction

I eliminated refined sugar for 3 weeks. (Yes I ate fruit. No I did not eat things containing sugar as an ingredient and no syrups: maple, corn, brown rice or otherwise).

Sunday night I reintroduced sugar to my body by way of a favorite treat, homemade by a loving friend, macaroons. (Shredded Coconut. Sugar. Egg whites. Almond extract)

I ate 1, slowly, as I journaled. Savoring the sweet excitement. I could not stop myself from eating 2 more. 5 minutes later my face felt like it was lit on fire. My ears turned deep red. Pain shot through my joints at my elbows and knees. A strong headache began in the back left region of my skull. I breathed. I journaled. I texted my support group, yes this is a real thing. I drank lots of water, flossed, brushed, scraped (my tongue. real thing. do it!) and went to bed.

Sleep was interrupted by intense wrist and thumb joint pain and uncomfortable temperature extremes. (FYI. This is not a regular occurrence for me. I generally sleep soundly. Even more often the past 3 weeks with no refined sugar)

I woke up at 7am and decided to only drink water and tea (turmeric and ginger root simmered for 10 minutes to reduce inflammation ) until I felt hungry. I worked on emails and calls from 8am till 1 pm. I went to my studio and had a 1 hour Yoga practice. At 2:30pm my tummy began to speak up. I made a green smoothie bowl with aloe, kale, celery, half a lemon, and almond milk (homemade of course) topped with some sunflower seeds and oats. Things are back to good with even temperatures and joint space doing it’s thing without screaming in agony.

Summary:

Sugar, you are a nasty powder, snuck in everything, drug and I will no longer be succumbing to your pain and addictive ways. Bye!

Research: 

Sugar turns off our hormone’s power that tells us we are full, Leptin. It turns up our production of Leptin till our brain can no longer hear it. See Leptin Resistance for the in depth story.

Sugar is 4 times more addictive that cocaine. Causing the brain to release surges of natural opioids.

History: 

Refinement of sugar invented in India in the 1300’s. Sent to Europe in the 1600’s. Considered an extremely potent drug. Handled under lock and key only by apothecaries.

In France it was known as ‘Crack’.

Marvelously addictive. Businessmen saw fortune. And produced it locally by using slave trade on sugar plantations.

Sugar is 4 times more addictive than cocaine. Refined sugar is not food. It’s a high calorie drug. Ground into powder so it can be dressed up. Imagine if we were all chewing sugar cane.
😳

*History source from a lecture by Julia Ross, MA
www.moodcure.com
http://www.integrativenutrition.com

My hope for my experimentation with elimination diets is to bring awareness around different food’s effects on me. In this case sugar’s addictive qualities and my bodies rebuking reactions.

IF YOU ARE THINKING OF ELIMINATED REFINED SUGARS:
1) Know the intital weeks are HARD
2) I lost 6 lbs in the first week
3) Read this

Stretching my eating habits in Public for all to read.
*A Movement of Movement*
LENGTH STRENGTH & LOVE for ALL!
~VinnyB

Leave a Reply

